Written by speedfight   
Sunday, 19 September 2010 14:31




 Thailand young sensation Rathapong Walairot upstaged Malaysian top riders at Round 3 of the Malaysian Super Series in Sepang today as he topped qualifying in the 600cc Supersports Championship to take pole position for tomorrow’s opening race.


The 16-year old Rathapong – the younger brother of Moto2 rider Rathapark – clocked an amazing time of 2 minutes 15.404 seconds; beating two of Malaysia’s top 600cc riders - pushing championship leader Suhadi Ali Rahmat and defending champion Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman to second and third respectively.


Representing Idemitsu Honda Racing, Suhadi, who had a total haul of 70 points after two rounds, clocked 2 minutes 15.780 seconds while Azlan, who rides for PETRONAS Sprinta Yamaha, took 2 minutes 16.007 seconds to cover the 5.543-km track.

But, both Suhadi and Azlan would not be too concerned with the performance of Rathapong tomorrow as the Thai rider was competing in the Supersports Junior Championship where he had been unrivalled. He leads the championship with a total of 88 points.


In the absence of Malaysia’s top junior rider Hafizh Syarin Abdullah, Rathapong should again dominate tomorrow’s two races although compatriot and team-mate Apiwat Wongthananon and another young Malaysian Mohd Farid Badrul Hisham.


For Suhadi and Azlan, it would not just a battle for the championship title; but for the opportunity to be included in the final group to be selected to represent Malaysia as a wildcard rider in the Moto2 at the 2011 Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix in Sepang.


Qualifying for the Superbike Championship was topped by defending champion Yasuhiro Kuhara, who clocked  2 minutes 14.215 seconds. Abdul Rahim Sidek was second fastest with a lap time of 2 minutes 17.711 seconds


Championship leader Ramon Azrem Abdul Karim was fastest in the 1000cc Superstock Championship; clocking a time of 2 minutes 17.501 seconds; followed by his closest rival Ahmad Zamani Baharuddin at 2 minutes 18.341 seconds.




Qualifying - Round 3 (Bikes)

Sepang Circuit (5.543km)


Supersports Championship


1.Walairot Rathapong (Honda CBR600)                2:15.404s

2. Suhadi Ali Rahmat (Honda CBR600)                2:15.780s

3. Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman (Yamaha R6)         2:16. 007s

4. Suhatchai Chaemsap (Honda CBR600)             2:16.075s

5. Ahmad Fazrul Sham (Honda CBR600)              2:16.254s


Superbike Championship


Yasuhiro Kuhara (Honda CBR1000)        2:14.215s

Abdul Rahim Sidek (Honda CBR1000)   2:17.501s

Mohd Syahnas Shahidan (MV Agusta)   2:18.341s

Che Zamri Hamid (Kawasaki)                   2:19.458s

Ahmad Azhar Hamid (Yamaha R1)         2:19.829s


Superstock Championship


1.Remon Azrem Abdul Karim (Honda CBR1000)               2:17.501s

2. Ahmad Zamani Baharuddin (Honda CBR1000)             2:18.341s

3. Luca Cassoni (Aprilia)                                              2:19.458s

4. Norhisham Mohd (Ducati)                                      2:20.514s

5. Mohd Faizal Yahya (Honda CBR1000)                2:20.617s            


Bikerz Hi-Rev Cup


1.Ahmad Azhar Hamid (Yamaha 125)                    2:34.308s

2. Mohd Hafieenaz Ali (Kawasaki 150)                   2:38.677s

3. Mohd Faizal Yahya (Kawasaki 150)                    2:39.008s

4. Ahmad Nashrul Baharuddin (Yamaha RXZ) 2:40.856s

5. Mohd Rizal Jantan (Yamaha 135)                        2:41.119s

Last Updated on Sunday, 19 September 2010 14:34