Written by speedfight   
Friday, 06 August 2010 19:27



The 2008 Merdeka Millennium Endurance Race champion, Porsche Club Singapore Racing (PCSR) will be taking the pole position for the third consecutive time in the 12-hour endurance race at Sepang Circuit tomorrow.

Lead by two-time Malaysian Super Series (MSS) Supercar champion Mok Weng Sun, the team clocked a total time 6 minutes 17.346 seconds around the 5.543-km Formula 1 track, with Porsche works driver Richard Lietz making the fastest lap time of 2 minutes 4.206 seconds.

Mok – a two-time Malaysian Super Series (MSS) Supercar champion and a veteran of the Sepang track clocked 2 minutes 7.626 seconds and their third driver, multiple time Australian Porsche Carrera Cup driver Craig Baird clocked 2 minutes 5.514 seconds.

The team will be joined by the Arrows Racing Team - Tunku Hammam Sulong, Germany’s Peter Kox and Christopher Haase- at the front row tomorrow. The Arrows Racing Team had clocked a total time of 6 minutes 18.666 seconds.

After winning the 2008 race, the PCSR team failed in their bid to retain the overall title last year despite starting from pole position. They encountered mechanical problems in the first hour and had to spend 35 minutes in the pits to repair the damage. The team eventually finished third. 

“I started from pole position in 2008 and won the race so I am really hoping to repeat that performance at the race tomorrow,” he said at the top qualifiers press conference at the circuit.

“Last year, I started from the pole position as well; but I wasn’t able to make it. It’s a 12 hour long race tomorrow and anything can happen. I just hope to be at the drivers press conference tomorrow after the race!” he added.

Lietz said: “It’s my first race here in Asia and I am very happy to be racing with the team. We have a very good team here. I just hope we can keep the pace up tomorrow.

 “Winning the race requires a good set up and I hope that we will be able to maintain our performance and keep a constant pace. I am very happy with the qualifying result,” he added.

“I am more familiar with the Michelin tyres … but the team had worked very hard to give us a very, very good car. It is a team effort,” Baird said in clear reference to the one-tyre rule of using Pirelli tyres this year.

“The qualifying round is only the first step and I am glad it was a successful outing for us. Now, we just need to back it up with a win,” Baird added.

MOFAZ Racing, which features the famous Haji Fauzy brothers Fairuz and Farriz; and Rizal Ashram Ramli were the fastest in the Sports Production Class, clocking the total time of 7 minutes 8.563 seconds. They were 14th overall in the qualifying time sheets

Placing themselves 17th overall, Honda Malaysia Racing Team - Eddie Lew, Rueben Wong and Aaron Lim – were the fastest in the Touring Production class with a total time of 7 minutes 16.757 seconds.

With 36 cars on the grid, the race would be flagged off tomorrow at midnight by Miss Malaysia Miss World 2009/2010 Thanuja Anandthan.



1.Mok Weng Sun/Craig G. Baird/Richard Lietz (Porsche RSR) 6:17.346s

2. Tunku Hammam Sulong/Peter Kox/Christopher Haase (Lamborghini LP560) 6:18.666s

3. Alex Yoong/Matthew Marsh/Marchy Lee (Lamborghini LP560) 6:19.344s

4. Frank Biela/Darryl O'Young/Marco Werner (Audi R8 LMS) 6:22.328s

5. Dilantha Malagamuwa/Kota Sasaki/Jeffrey Lee Lamborghini LP560) 6:23.170s

6. Mokhzani Mahathir/Sven Herberger/Dominik Farnbacher (Porsche 911 GT3) 6:26.807s

7. Frank Yu/Alain Li/ Michael Bentwood (Aston Martin) 6:32.410s

8. Mark Cini/Mark Eddy/M.J. Twigg (Porsche 997 Cup S) 6:35.961s

9.Tony Quinn/Klark Quinn/Paul Weel (Porsche 997 Cup S) 6:37.144s

10. Keita Sawa/Siu Yuk Lung/Mak Hing Tak (Porsche 911 Cup S) 6:37.650s


For details, contact SIC National Press Officer Norlina Ayob at 019-317455.



From left : Mofaz Team (Farriz Fauzy, Fairuz Fauzy, Rizal Ramli), Porsche Club Singapore Racing ( Craig Beird, Mok Weng Sun, Richard Lietz), Honda Team Malaysia (Eddie Lew, Aaron Lim, Ruben Wong)

Last Updated on Thursday, 16 September 2010 19:53